General News

Twyford in Good Hands

By 25 November 2019 No Comments

Pictured above: Twyford Hall Inc Committee for 2019/20. Rear: Frankie J Holden, Greg Whitby, Bernard Shea, Bill Dejong, Lucas Scarpin. Front: Chris Ball, Charles Cooper, John Beever (via mobile phone), Bill Deveril. Absent: Roslyn Thompson. 

Merimbula’s new theatre moved closer on 25 November when Twyford Hall Incorporated’s 2019 Annual General Meeting elected the committee that will build Theatre Twyford.

Long term President Bill Deveril was returned with construction expert Charles Cooper continuing as Vice President. Former Council CFO now private consultant Lucas Scarpin remains Treasurer with Bernard Shea as Public Officer. Committee members for 2019/20 are Bill Dejong, Greg Whitby, Frankie J Holden and Chris Ball.

Secretary Roslyn Thompson swapped roles with Committee member John Beever. Bill Deveril paid tribute to Roslyn’s dedicated service to the community and Twyford Hall over 16 years as Secretary. He thanked John Beever for taking on this new role. John led the team which won the grant to build Theatre Twyford and is now working to update THI’s governance.

Bill Deveril paid warm tribute to all who have helped to make Theatre Twyford a reality.

He signed off a report to Council detailing current trading and finances; governance improvements; appointment of specialist project managers; the careful tender process to select the theatre builder; improvements to financial systems and communications with stakeholders.

‘This is the most comprehensive report so far to Council as Trustee for the Twyford site and shows the professionalism and care with which THI is taking the venue into the future. We will have more good news for the community very soon’ he said.